I’ve overdosed on extrovert 

  
 

I knew it was going to be a long day when I was getting ready this morning. 
I showered and got dressed. I put on my earrings and my bracelet. My bracelet felt heavier than usual. 
I packed lunch and slipped on my boots and sweater. Everything felt uncomfortable. Was my sweater too big? How much does this weigh?

As I put my son in his car seat I realized I was extremely tired. It was 8:23 am. It was gonna be a long day. 

As the day progressed I could only think about crawling back into my shell and staying there until further notice. But I knew I couldn’t because I’m a mom and had a whole lot of shit to do before my shell would welcome me again. 

Sometimes I don’t realize I’ve had too much interaction with people and the world outside of me until I need days to recover. When everything around me is too loud, too heavy, too bright, just too much. 

Today, it started with a bracelet. Normally I would have just snatched it off and throw it in my purse. But I didn’t want to take it off and risk losing it or messing it up. So I kept it on. And I made it through the day. 

Sort of. I’m currently laying in my bed, waiting for my child to fall asleep while he smells my belly button. And I haven’t eaten dinner, which will probably consist of Cap’n Crunch berries and a cocktail. 

Leave a Reply

