The Tale of Halloween 

The thing I love most about being a mother is making my son happy. I’m not the girl who always wanted to be a mother, but from the moment I found out I was going to be I was up for the challenge. And challenging it is!

Eli loves to pretend and play make-believe. He loves books and monsters and acting out his favorite songs and stories. But one thing he does not love is an actual costume. A sock can be used as a hat. Or a hat can be used as a sock. But typically he likes to be in control of what he wears and how he wears it. 

He also doesn’t talk very much so we can’t discuss what he wants to be for Halloween. I can’t take him to the store and ask him to tell me which costume he wants. So the weeks leading up to Halloween I watch him around the house and try to determine what he likes. This year the signs clearly pointed to his new favorite show Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood. The costume is simple and requires few accessories so it sounds like a great idea. Also, last year he got his face painted like a tiger at his cousin’s birthday party so I know he will love it. 

I begin searching for the costume and find it is not as easy to find a red hoodie as I thought. After 2 days I finally have all the parts. And for 2 days he eagerly looks at the face paint and smiles when I tell him that is for his Daniel Tiger costume. I’m excited because he’s gonna look so cute. I even decided I would dress up as Daniel Tiger’s mom, Mom Tiger. 

I wake him up early to get ready for school and we are both smiling. Then,he wants no parts in that face makeup. I send him to his room and decide that he is just going to stay home because I can’t even deal with this after I spent 2 damn days looking for a costume for this little ungrateful child! He kept coming out of his room and trying to hug and kiss me. With a child who isn’t very verbal it can sometimes be like those old black and white movies where no one is talking and the characters have ridiculous facial expressions and body movements. But I understand him pretty well. I could tell he wanted to go to school and wear his costume but just not that face paint. Also, it is hard not to melt when this child gets all lovey dovey (is that how you spell that?)

After getting him dressed I have to shake my head at myself for getting so mad at a three year old. And for trying to control his Halloween costume. By now I should know better. Every day in our house is different from the next yet so much of the same. The one thing that is consistent is that he knows what he wants. He knows who he is and as long as I accept that everything is good. And I must say he was a really cute Daniel Tiger!

  

Leave a Reply

