Now or Never!

Today has been a difficult day for me. Just a few months ago I quit my job as a school counselor to stay home with my son. Many people ask many questions about how I will pay my bills and what I am going to do. I’ve accepted many strange looks and I’m sure worse thoughts about my crazy plan. I just kept saying, “I’m going to be a stay at home mom.” Surely people got their kicks out of that, but I am going to try my hardest to make this happen.

So, I’ve been ending many days in headaches trying to figure this thing out. I have been working on my doula certification, but I knew I wanted to do something more and incorporate my passion for counseling somehow. After a few months things are finally starting to come together and as excited as I am, I am trying not to let fear get in my way.

I have a strong group of women working with me. Our team consists of myself, my sister Renee Cutno, and my friend Zenobia Reed. (Hopefully we will soon be adding a marriage and family counselor to the team). Together we hope to have come up with a concept that will change the way women feel about seeking counseling and asking for help. We have developed what we call Besties on the Geaux. We are not psychiatrists nor do we claim to be know-it-all’s. But what we are is a group of women who have been through a lot. Through life and education we feel we each have a lot to offer individually.

Our vision is to provide an informal and unorthodox type of counseling and more. We hope that we get the opportunity to give support to women going through real life events by helping them talk through their problem, creating a plan and being their own advocate. In addition, a member of our team can help with any problem from behavioral issues with children, balancing home and work, and even rebuilding after a separation with your partner.

I don’t know what will happen now that I have put this out there, but what I hope is that we will help at least one woman who is in need of a listening ear or a helping hand.

CHECK US OUT ON THE GEAUX!

20150710_135935 FullSizeRender (3)image1 (2)

2 responses

Leave a Reply

