There’s no place like home

This evening before dinner my two year old asked to go to bed. “May I have some get in this bed please,” he said. YES, YOU MAY!!!!

Later I was putting his pajamas on and he was completely knocked out. He never even stopped snoring. I was thinking about how amazing that is that kids have the ability to sleep through anything when the slightest little thing wakes me up.  Is this something God equipped them with to help parents keep their sanity? Maybe. But I think it is a gift we give them as parents instead.

Children don’t have to wake up when they hear a strange sound or when the dog starts barking because that is what parents are for. We protect them and make them feel safe.  They know that mom or dad will make sure everything is okay and won’t let anything happen to them.

I guess that is why it is so comforting to watch a child sleep peacefully. There is a feeling of accomplishment that I get when I am looking at my child resting peacefully. Like, “Aaaaahhhhhhhh I did something right!”  And it is almost like he is saying back to me “Everything is perfect and comfortable here.”

My sister says I don’t give myself enough credit for being a good mom. But I am proud that my son Eli is holistically happy and healthy. Nothing means more to me than that. I don’t care if he is on the honor roll, where he goes to college (as long as it is NOT Alabama as I am an LSU fan) or what he does for a living. And if I can keep this up for the next 16 years I will be completely content with my job as a parent.

Leave a Reply

